Tourism Langley elects new board of directors

Strengthening partnerships and collaboration was the common theme and message at Tourism Langley’s annual general meeting.

“This past year emphasized the value of tourism to our local economies,” said Deborah Kulchiski, Tourism Langley’s executive director. “Measurable results from both the 2010 Olympic Games and 2010 B.C. Summer Games has better positioned our communities and enabled our organizations to achieve our goal of completing the tactics and strategies that had been in place.”

The AGM also saw the election of the 2011 board of directors.

John Aldag (Director at Large), Jody Henderson (Attractions), Teri James (Retail and Other), Jeff Leung (Accommodation), Karen Long (Food and Beverage), Susan Magnusson (Heritage, Arts, Events &Culture), Dave Struthers, (Accommodation), and Alnoor Tejpar (Accommodation). Appointed for one year terms are:  Mayor Peter Fassbender (City of Langley), Councillor Bev Dornan (Township of Langley), Ted Bowman (Greater Langley Chamber of Commerce) and Carla Robin (Sport Langley Advisory).  Laurie Braaten (Accommodation) and Eugene Kwan were recognized as outgoing Director’s for their respective terms as well as Stan Duckworth for his contributions during his term in 2009 through to 2010.