LUYSA honours award winners at year-end banquet

Langley soccer club recognizes outstanding contributions

Players, coaches and volunteers were honoured on Friday night as the Langley United Youth Soccer Association handed out their awards for the past soccer season.

The presentation took place March 30 at the Township of Langley’s Fraser River Presentation Theatre.

“Langley United’s awards night is a time to celebrate the past season and it’s always great to see our people get the recognition they deserve,” said Langley United president Betty Boucas.

Among the major awards, Nate Turner was selected U21 player of the year.

The award-winner is nominated by his peers.

Turner began with LUYSA as a six-year-old and played all of his youth soccer in Langley. He now plays for the Trinity Western Spartans men’s soccer team and Langley United’s U21 squad. He led the U21 team in goal scoring.

Another major award winner was Paul Marshall, who was selected grassroots coach of the year.

Marshall is implementing a development program within LUYSA.

“(Paul) is a coach who looks the part, walks the walk and is able to get the best out of the children,” said Mark Parker, technical director for Langley United.

Other winners included:

Emma Coyle won the most promising youth referee trophy (LUYSA Perpetual Award), which is awarded to the individual who displays punctuality, reliability and leadership qualities.

Nic De Biasio won the David Rayner Memorial Trophy, which is given to the Gold or lower U17 players who demonstrates soccer as fun and also promotes sportsmanship.

Taro Boccia won the Jonathan Filer Memorial Most Promising Goalkeeper Award. The award is for the keeper who demonstrates passion for the game, shows leadership qualities and a willingness to participate in all aspects of the game.

Carla Pardetti won the Janice Sheurman Volunteer Recognition Award, which is presented to an individual for multi-faceted contributions.

Stephan Neff won the Wanda Massie Most Inspirational Coach for the coach who makes the game fun and promotes sportsmanship by example.

Bernie Kragt won the Janice Sheurman Top LUYSA Coach, which is given to the coach who displays exceptional technical and leadership abilities.

Trevor Barnes won the Robbie King Memorial Trophy, which is given to the most inspirational U17 player. It is awarded for leadership skills, sportsmanship and commitment to soccer.

Ryan Smith won the Chad Seebach Memorial Trophy, given to the most promising U18 player. The player shows excellence in technical skills and demonstration of team leadership.

Elie Gindo won the Paul Gademan Memorial Trophy as the most promising U17 player. The player shows excellence in technical skills and demonstration of team leadership.

The U13 Metro team won the Annie Doremy Flowerdew Sportsmanship Award, given to the team for their positive attitude and strong sportsmanship.

The U14 Silver team won the LUYSA President’s Trophy as the most outstanding team. It is awarded for performance above exception and exceptional achievement.

Bruce Laidlaw won the LUYSA Technical Director’s Award of Merit.