Skip to content

Langley junior Thunder win two provincial league awards

Three members of the Jr. A lacrosse squad were also named to all-star teams
(Ryan Molag graphic, LEC/Special to Langley Advance Times)

Langley Thunder was recognized with a pair of year-end awards while a trio of players were selected to the various BC Junior A Lacrosse League all-star teams.

The award winners and all-stars were announced by the BCJALL on Tuesday, Aug. 22.

Leading the way was captain Stuart Phillips, who won the John Urban Award as the league’s top graduating player as well as earning a first team all-star selection.

This marks the second straight year a member of the Thunder organization has won the John Urban Award, as Kyle Brunsch was the 2022 recipient.

Phillips only suited up in six games, but averaged 5.2 points per game on 14 goals and 17 assists for 31 points.

Langley’s other major award winner was Jaiden Terry, who was recognized with the Keith McEachren Trophy as the BCJALL’s most sportsmanlike player.

Also earning places on the all-star teams were Cody Malawsky and Bailey Vanichuk.

Malawsky was selected to the second team, while Vanichuk was named to the all-rookie team.

Malawsky scored a team-high 22 goals and 42 points in just 11 games, while Vanichuk led Langley in scoring with 47 points and 26 assists. He was second on the Thunder with 21 goals.

RELATED: Langley Thunder bound for WLA finals

READ MORE: Langley Thunder take on Burnaby in last at-home game


Have a story tip? Email:
Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

About the Author: Langley Advance Times Staff

Read more