Skip to content

Spartans get revenge, down Eagles in Cup final

Peewee hockey team captures Langley Cup with 3-1 victory
The Langley Spartans won the Langley Peewee Cup with a 3-1 defeat of the Langley Eagles.

The Langley LY1 Spartans got a measure of revenge, defeating the team which cost them the playoff banner.

The Spartans scored a 3-1 victory over the Langley LY5 Eagles on Sunday in the championship final of the Langley Peewee Cup at the George Preston Recreation Centre.

"We fell short in the playoffs, and I think once that happened, it refocused everybody on what our original goal was, which was to win the (Langley) Cup," said Spartans coach Darcy Frederick.

"So we had a little extra motivation going in."

Carsen Grim, Sean Wade and Brian Pol each scored a goal while Daylen Peterson finished with a pair of helpers. Ethan Wardell also had an assist.

Luke Sommerville had the lone goal for the Eagles.

The Spartans entered the Cup playoffs as the top seed and then went 4-0 en route to the championship. They beat Langley LY4 7-2 in the opener, edged Langley LY2 2-1 and then beat the Eagles 2-1 to advance straight to the final.

With the Cup format double knockout, the Eagles won their next game to earn another shot against the Spartans.

Frederick has coached some of his players for three years now, and they won the Langley Atom Cup in both 2014 and 2015 before graduating to the peewee level.

"The goal at the start of every year is to win the Langley Cup, that is by the players, not by us," Frederick said.

"We went out and worked very, very hard and the boys came out ready to play every single game.

"The boys played fantastic, they played their hearts out."

The team finished the season with an overall record of 29-5-2.

The players are: Nicolas Cristiano, Seth Arneson, Kieran Chanteloup, Scott Crowell, Olivia Frederick, Carsen Grim, Bergen George, Rohnik Kooner, Matthew McDowall, Dylan McMurray, Daylen Peterson, Brian Pol, Shawn Schmidt, Rylan Tutte, Sean Wade and Ethan Wardell.

The coaches are Darcy Frederick, Don George, Adam Tutte and Laurent Chanteloup. The manager is Steve Kooner.