The Langley Warriors are the senior B provincial lacrosse champions after defeating the Nanaimo Timbermen 10-4 in game three of the best-of-five series on Aug. 11 at the Langley Events Centre.

Warriors chop down Timbermen, claim first provincial banner

Langley senior B lacrosse team puts years of misery behind them and earn spot in President's Cup national lacrosse championships

Someone recently told Langley Warriors owner Denise Forlin that in the senior B organization’s short history, they had an overall record of something in the neighbourhood of 20 wins and 95 losses.

The Warriors joined the West Coast Senior Lacrosse Association in 2009 and have struggled.

They did make the post-season in 2015, losing in the provincial semifinals.

But 2016 has been something special and on Thursday night, the Warriors capped things off with a 10-4 victory over the Nanaimo Timbermen to capture the provincial banner.

The game was played at the Langley Events Centre and the win capped off a series sweep — while improving the Warriors to 6-0 in the post-season — as Langley defeated Nanaimo three games to none in the best-of-five series.

In Thursday’s clincher, the teams were scoreless for the first 10 minutes before the Warriors exploded for three goals in a 31-second span.

Langley led 5-0 after one period and 10-2 after 40 minutes.

Derek Lowe led the way with three goals and three assists while Bryan Poole — the WCSLA regular season scoring leader with 31 goals and 80 points — had five assists.

Geordie Wells (two goals, one assist), Jordan Flaman (two goals, one assist) and Curt Callard (two goals) each had multi-goal games. Will Vanden Hooven had a goal and two helpers.

Tye Belanger stopped 23 of 25 shots with Ryley Brown coming in for the third period and stopping 11 of 13 shots.

Despite title, season wasn’t easy

But even winning the provincial title didn’t come easy for the Warriors, who were the top team in the regular season at 11-2-0-1.

They lost one of their leading scorers to an achilles injury during the year and the team’s head coach also stepped down midway through for personal reasons.

“(Troy Margetson) did a great job at the very beginning,” said Warriors coach Jason Kump, who wasn’t involved with the team prior to taking over, but has coached the majority of the players over the years when they played field lacrosse with Langley Minor Lacrosse. He also coached some of them with the Whalley Ballers field lacrosse program.

“These guys are full of youth and experience, battle hard in the corners and always come up with the ball,” Kump said.

Langley lights out in the post-season

In the six playoff games, Langley surrendered a grand total of 22 goals. And this came on the heels of being the only team in the league to allow less than 100 goals during the regular season, as they surrendered 97 in 14 games.

“Our defence won the championship, honestly,” Kump said. “Those are low, hard level battle games.”

For team captain Mark Forlin — who has been with the organization since day one — Thursday’s victory was satisfying.

“Amazing, the best feeling in the world,” he said. “We have waited eight years for this.

“It has been a struggle (and we are) glad to be on top.”

What makes the victory even sweeter was the fact Nanaimo eliminated Langley from last year’s provincial championships in the semifinals, the first time the Warriors had even made the post-season.

Buoyed by that success, Forlin said the team set out a goal at the start of 2016 of winning provincials and representing B.C. at the President’s Cup, the senior B national lacrosse championships.

“That was our goal and we accomplished it,” he said.

The last Langley team to win the WCSLA provincial title was the Langley Knights, who captured the crown in 2000. The Knights relocated to  New Westminster in 2007 and are now the Royal City Capitals.

The Warriors now get set for the President’s Cup, which runs Aug. 28 to Sept. 3 in Leduc, Alta.


Just Posted

VIDEO: Bowen Byram named top prospect

Giants defenceman recognized as premier NHL draft pick

Langley golfer James Allenby takes Canada Life Open lead

Shot career-low round at Point Grey Golf & Country Club

Langley Thunder kick off 2019 season with high hopes

Home opener set for Wednesday, May 29 against the Burnaby Lakers.

Langley Home Expo shows off home and yard improvements

The annual event is being held in Brookswood at the George Preston Rec Centre

Kodiaks dominate spring season

Seven lopsided wins in a row for the 2018 provincial midget champions

Police release photos of suspect in daytime sex assault at Vancouver woman’s home

A young woman, in hers 20s, was followed home by the man, before he violently attacked her inside

Raptors beat Bucks 100-94 to advance to franchise’s first-ever NBA Finals

Leonard has 27 points, 17 boards to lead Toronto past Milwaukee

Third person charged in death of B.C. teen Bhavkiran Dhesi

Inderdeep Kaur Deo facing charge of accessory after the fact to murder

Kamloops girl, 9, recovering from carbon monoxide poisoning now out of ICU

Her mother who was sleeping in the same tent with her did not survive

UPDATE: Surrey RCMP say boy, 11, missing for two days found safe

Dominic Mattie was last seen at 5 p.m. in the 13500-block of Gateway Drive in Surrey

‘I think he’s still alive’: B.C. mom pleads for help finding son last seen a month ago

Family offering $5,000 reward for information leading to the safe return of Tim Delahaye

New poll suggests one-third don’t want politicians to wear religious symbols

Local politicians shouldn’t be allowed to wear hijabs, crucifixes or turbans on the job, survey suggests

Raptors fans far from home adjust plans to watch pivotal playoff game

Raptors currently lead the playoff series 3-2, and a win Saturday would vault them into NBA finals

Most Read